Behind the Scenes of Reality TV

The digital age has hit us and blogging is really becoming a source that people turn to for information more often. There seems to be a blog about everything these days and Reality TV is no exception to this.

Reality TV enthusiast, Marcia Wong is 30-years-old and although technically unemployed, she calls her Reality TV blog, TV Watchers Unite, her profession. Having been “addicted” to television since a young age, Marcia has always loved talking with others about the television shows she watches. It wasn’t until February this year when a friend suggested that she create a blog about TV shows that she really had a proper outlet for her passion.

In regards to her blog, Marcia says, “It could be considered a hobby to others, but I personally take it very seriously. People come to my blog for various reasons. It may be to find out what happened in a show that doesn’t play in their location, there may be a new show and they want to know if it’s worth watching or they may have questions about certain shows.”

Having been in this inquisitive position herself, Marcia felt an obligation to share with the world what she knew about TV shows and her opinions of them.

Having no real professional writing training, Marcia admits that when she started her blog she was, “a bit of an amateur.” However, having tried to post at least once a day since the blog started, she has really been able to develop her skills and evolve into having a particular style.

Marcia has high hopes for her blog. She says, “With shows which are pilots or lesser known, I hope that from what I write about them, I’ll get at least one or two people wanting to check the show out.

Marcia elaborates enthusiastically, “Basically, I want my favourite shows to have more viewers than they did the week before. I want to give my shows positive attention, and I want to share my opinions about the shows while also informing readers what happened in the episodes.”

Marcia gives the example of Gordon Ramsay’s show, Kitchen Nightmares. She has found the viewership of her blogs about this show has gone up each week, which tells her that the viewership and interest in the show has also gone up. She says excitedly, “Maybe my blog has helped with that.”

Marcia loves many different Reality TV shows including MasterChef, Hell’s Kitchen, My Five Wives, 19 Kids and Counting and Sister Wives. There are however, certain shows that Marcia refuses to watch. She shakes her head and says, “I won’t watch Honey Boo Boo, Real Housewives or anything Kardashian. They just aren’t my taste and, in my opinion, give Reality TV a bad rep.”

For Marcia, it’s the fact that she gets a sneak peak into people’s lives and the issues that they’re dealing with that make Reality TV so interesting for her. She explains, “I get attached to the people in these shows, and I get excited to see what’s going to happen with them next.”

Marcia continues, “They can be easy to relate to, cheer on, get mad at and I love every emotional journey they take me on. Maybe they’re going through something I can personally relate to, and I try to share that in my blog.”

TV Watchers Unite is constantly receiving new followers of her blog but sadly she doesn’t receive a lot of interaction on her posts. She says, “I get likes and comments here and there but I think people usually just read the post and close the Internet window. While I do get viewership, which is my main goal, I just wish I got feedback on my posts as well so I could tailor my writing to what my followers wanted.

Marcia is on many different social media outlets including Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr trying to reach out to as many people as possible, so be sure to check her out.

Click here to visit Marcia’s blog.

The logo of Marcia Wong's Blog. Image taken from http://tvluver4life.wordpress.com

The logo of Marcia Wong’s Blog. Image taken from http://tvluver4life.wordpress.com

One thought on “Behind the Scenes of Reality TV

  1. Pingback: Behind the Scenes of Reality TV | TV ADDICT HERE! :)

Leave a Reply

